28 February 2019

The Mental Health Commission of NSW is pleased to welcome new members to the Community Advisory Council.
Members are appointed by the Minister for Mental Health and reflect the diversity of the NSW community. We draw upon their expertise to help us understand issues that affect the mental health and wellbeing of people living in NSW.

The new members appointed until November 2019, bring a range of specific expertise and broad experience. They will inform our work with people with lived experience of mental health issues and caring, Aboriginal people, young people, LGBTIQ+ people and the human services sectors. 

The following new members will be joining our 10 existing Councils members:

  • Anne Baker
  • Gary Groves
  • Andrew Johnson
  • Heidi Keevers
  • Craig Mack
  • Steve Stanton
  • Ibrahim Taha. 

The NSW Mental Health Commissioner, Catherine Lourey, said the Community Advisory Council’s work ensures the Commission is connected to the experiences of people and communities. 

“It is extremely important that the Council’s composition echoes the geographic and cultural diversity of NSW, so that communities have a voice within the Commission,” Ms Lourey said. 

“The Council’s advice on the concerns and experiences of the people of NSW guides the Commission’s work in leading reform.”

Share this

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn E-mail More
Last updated: 28 February 2019