28 February 2020

On Tuesday 18 February 2020, the NSW Mental Health Commission was privileged to host the annual meeting of the Mental Health Commissioners of Australia and New Zealand. In attendance were:

  • Ms Catherine Lourey, Commissioner – New South Wales Mental Health Commission
  • Ms Christine Morgan, Chief Executive Officer/Commissioner - National Mental Health Commission
  • Ms Maureen Lewis, Deputy Chief Executive Officer - National Mental Health Commission
  • Dr Elizabeth Moore, Coordinator General – Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing (ACT)
  • Ms Lee-Ann Rogers, Change Leader – Office for Mental Health and Wellbeing (ACT)
  • Dr Lynne Coulson Barr, Mental Health Complaints Commissioner - Mental Health Complaints Commission (VIC)
  • Mr Ivan Frkovic, Commissioner - Queensland Mental Health Commission 
  • Ms Bretine Curtis, Executive Director - Queensland Mental Health Commission
  • Prof. Sharon Lawn, Commissioner – South Australian Mental Health Commission 
  • Ms Amelia Traino, Executive Director – South Australian Mental Health Commission
  • Mr David Axworthy, Assistant Commissioner – West Australian Mental Health Commission
  • Mr Kevin Allan, Mental Health Commissioner – Office of the Health and Disability Commissioner (NZ)

The mental health and wellbeing of people and communities affected by the bushfires, suicide prevention and support for children and young people were among the items discussed at this meeting. The Commissioners shared news from their regions and the participants visited the Gladesville Hospital Cemetery, to honour the people buried on site, who were memorialised in a ceremony on 10 December 2019.

Guest speaker Associate Professor Kimberlie Dean, the inaugural Chair in Forensic Mental Health at UNSW (a joint appointment with the Justice Health & Forensic Mental Health Network) presented the Forensic Patient Database Project.

“It was an honour to host the Joint Commissioners’ Meeting and to have thought-leaders from across the sector together in the one room. 

“We had some lively and valuable discussions about mental health reform around Australia and New Zealand, as well as key issues impacting the mental health and wellbeing of communities such as the bushfire crisis,” says Catherine Lourey.

The next Joint Commissioners’ Meeting will be held later in 2020.

Share this

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn E-mail More
Last updated: 11 March 2020